• email  info@lawleader.in
  • phone  011-22159165
  • IMSNoida



Brief History

The Supreme Court of India is the highest judicial forum and final court of appeal under the Constitution of India, the highest constitutional court, with the power of constitutional review.

In 1861 the Indian High Courts Act 1861 was enacted to create High Courts for various provinces and abolished Supreme Courts at Calcutta, Madras and Bombay and also the Sadar Adalats in Presidency towns which had acted as the highest court in their respective regions. These new High Courts had the distinction of being the highest Courts for all cases till the creation of Federal Court of India under the Government of India Act 1935. The Federal Court had jurisdiction to solve disputes between provinces and federal states and hear appeal against Judgments from High Courts.

The Supreme Court of India came into being on 28 January 1950. It replaced both the Federal Court of India and the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council which were at the apex of the Indian court system.

Supreme Court initially had its seat at Chamber of Princes in the Parliament building where the previous Federal Court of India sat from 1937 to 1950. In 1958, the Supreme Court moved to its present premises. Originally, Constitution of India envisaged a Supreme Court with a Chief Justice and seven Judges; leaving it to Parliament to increase this number. As the work of the Court increased and arrears of cases began to cumulate, Parliament increased the number of Judges from 8 in 1950 to 11 in 1956, 14 in 1960, 18 in 1978 and 26 in 1986. As the number of the Judges has increased, they sit in smaller Benches of two and three - coming together in larger Benches of 5 and more only when required to do so or to settle a difference of opinion or controversy.

The Supreme Court of India comprises the Chief Justice and 30 other Judges appointed by the President of India. Supreme Court Judges retire upon attaining the age of 65 years. In order to be appointed as a Judge of the Supreme Court, a person must be a citizen of India and must have been, for atleast five years, a Judge of a High Court or of two or more such Courts in succession, or an Advocate of a High Court or of two or more such Courts in succession for at least 10 years or he must be, in the opinion of the President, a distinguished jurist. Provisions exist for the appointment of a Judge of a High Court as an Ad-hoc Judge of the Supreme Court and for retired Judges of the Supreme Court or High Courts to sit and act as Judges of that Court.

The Constitution seeks to ensure the independence of Supreme Court Judges in various ways. A Judge of the Supreme Court cannot be removed from office except by an order of the President passed after an address in each House of Parliament supported by a majority of the total membership of that House and by a majority of not less than two-thirds of members present and voting, and presented to the President in the same Session for such removal on the ground of proved misbehaviour or incapacity. A person who has been a Judge of the Supreme Court is debarred from practising in any court of law or before any other authority in India.

The proceedings of the Supreme Court are conducted in English only. Supreme Court Rules, 1966 are framed under Article 145 of the Constitution to regulate the practice and procedure of the Supreme Court.

The first Chief Justice was Hon'ble Mr. Justice Harilal Jekisundas Kania (26 Jan 1950 to 6 Nov 1951)

Address & contact Details

  • Address :– Tilak Marg, New Delhi-110201 (India)
  • Phone No :– 011 2338 8922
  • Email Id :– supremecourt@nic.in
  • Timings :– 10:00 am – 5:00 pm

Details of Chief Justice of Supreme Court of India

  • Chief Justice Tirath Singh Thakur since 3 December 2015

List of Judges in Supreme Court of India

1. Justice Anil R. Dave 2. Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar
3. Justice Dipak Misra 4. Justice Jasti Chelameswar
5. Justice L. Nageswara Rao 6. Justice Ranjan Gogoi
7. Justice Madan Bhimarao Lokur 8. Justice Amitava Roy
9. Justice V. Gopala Gowda 10. Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose
11. Justice Kurian Joseph 12. Justice Arjan Kumar Sikri
13. Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde 14. Justice Shiva Kirti Singh
15. Justice Chockalingam Nagappan 16. Justice R.K. Agrawal
17. Justice N.V. Ramana 18 Justice Arun Mishra
19. Justice Adarsh Kumar Goel 20. Justice R.F. Nariman
21. Justice Abhay Manohar Sapre 22. Justice R. Banumathi
23. Justice Prafulla Chandra Pant 24. Justice Uday Umesh Lalit
25. Justice Ajay Manikrao Khanwilkar 26. Justice Dhananjaya Y. Chandrachud
27. Justice Ashok Bhushan

List of Registrars in Supreme Court of India

1. Shri Ravindra Maithani - Secretary General 6. Dr. K. Arul - Registrar
2. Mr. Subhash Malik - Registrar 7. Mr. M. V. Ramesh - Registrar
3. Mr. Pawan Dev Kotwal - Registrar 8. Mr. R.N. Nijhawan - Registrar
4. Mr. Raj Pal Arora - Registrar 9. Ms. Nisha Bhardwaj - Registrar
5. Mr. Chirag Bhanu Singh - Registrar

For More Information Visit:- http://www.supremecourtofindia.nic.in